The South Carolina Commission on National and Community Service


Governor Carroll Campbell established the South Carolina Commission on National and Community Service to support community service initiatives in the state and to administer grants under the National and Community Service Trust Act of 1993. In December 2007, by Executive Order of Governor Mark Sanford, the United Way Association of South Carolina was appointed as the governing authority of the Commission. The Commission is South Carolina’s lead agency on volunteerism and national service.
Our mission is to improve South Carolina communities through volunteerism and national service programs. Our vision is to promote and increase: (1) an ethic of service and volunteerism in the state of South Carolina, (2) the capacity of faith-based and community organizations within the state to better compete for funding opportunities and (3) the collaboration among communities and organizations that are trying to meet the greatest needs of the Palmetto State.
One of the main tools to achieve our mission is the grants the Commission makes to faith-based organizations, community nonprofits, and educational agencies. We encourage volunteerism for everyone from youth to seniors to people with disabilities; promote community solutions for disaster preparedness and response; and we help to strengthen and expand volunteer centers and other community-based organizations that use volunteers to accomplish their mission. Currently, the Commission funds 13 programs throughout the state.
United Way Association of South Carolina
South Carolina Commission on National and Community Service
400 Arbor Lake Drive, Suite B-500 
Columbia SC 29223
Our South Carolina Commissioners
 Missy Santorum, Chair
Charmeka Childs
Rebecca Ellefson
Marcus Finney
Fred Geier
Alexis Grant
Jessica Hemphill
 Susan Keenan
Heather Love
Betty Platt
Bernie Price
Cleo Richardson
Jerry Rudd
Caroline Smith
Susi Smith 
Christian Soura
Robert Wrigglesworth
Karen Oliver 

Newsletter Sign Up